Author:Reporter

More experimenting with collage story telling.

Inspired by the first workshop and freely creating to multiple texts, it was time to narrow my search down to my chosen text so that I could begin to create multiple samples that build a story..

  • Nobody comes here.
  • The shopping centre an entire stretch as large as a small town.
  • Largest urban mall in Britain. Shops demolished, market torn down, leaving nothing more than scatterings.
  • Shops demolished, market torn down, leaving nothing more than scatterings.

How chilling are those sentences??

To start off idea’s I began to search the locations he speaks of in Southampton. I struggled to see his bitterness, as photos of the bay flooded my screen along side colourful images of the sunset over the sea…

He speaks of how a shopping centre stretches as big as a small town! I found images on the 28DL site of the Bargate Shopping Centre – It stands in the centre surrounded by small business shops that look just as beat down as – the shopping centre that stands untouched for years.

I created a mind map of the objects that gather around Bargate, mainly focusing around the emptiness left behind. It’s a mixture of magazine collage, drawing and photography. This made the task of translating his narrative easier as I could see for myself what he speaks of.

Leave a Reply

